Page 37 of 366: Pissed, Sad, Confused, Not Pleased, Whut?

Page 37

I dunno if I am going to make this a sticky note post or what, but since this is personal, I’d rather not. Last weekend I was talking with Mama Jae on Facebook, and she was excited because her favourite Park Yucheon is going to have a new drama again, Rooftop Prince. (LOL, the mental image that title has given me!) I told her that what I am watching right now is The Moon That Embraces The Sun, and it was sooooo cute. I was being giddy with Mama Jae, hahaha, and I told her it was like Sungkyunkwan Scandal (the drama we both loved and what made her a big Park Yucheon fan that almost made her go to JYJ’s concert in San Francisco but thank God she was not able to go because I prolly died of jealousy and envy then, haha!) and the characters are so cute and it was from the same author as of Sungkyunkwan Scandal too. Mama Jae told me that she is going to check it out and I should have my pretty little arse ready if she is going to be addicted to it, teehee! Cute. We were giggling like grade school girls, until…

… she told me that Sungkyunkwan Scandal is going to be shown on Philippine TV (Why just now? Too late!) and in one of the Filipino forums, she said that the novel was posted as part of the thread main page. I was like, “Really, ma.” Honestly, I was not pleased, because the first thing that came to mind is that, they prolly got that novel translation from my blog! Pardon me, I can be a selfish monster at times, but I can’t help it. Gut feeling tells me there is something, but I just can’t pinpoint what it is. Deep inside I was like, “How dare them post it when I have said a million times not to distribute the password?”

Juvenile, I know.

Because later I think, what if they got that from yogurutu’s blog way back? I am not the only one who has the copy of those translations. I know I am being selfish, but part of me says that I want to give credit to whoever makes an effort to translate these pieces. If yogu’s blog is still active, I would not be posting the translations here, I would redirect people to her blog so that she would be appreciated for her hard work. I have never claimed these as my own, for what?

Now, please tell me, am I being selfish for protecting these when I know people can still get them somewhere? I dunno, but with all honesty, I feel pissed and sad and confused, and usually there is always good reason behind my gut feel. I just want these translators appreciated and if I am doing it the wrong way, please do tell.

Now that there is a new translation update for The Moon That Embraces The Sun Chapter 15, I dunno now if I am going to share that one or keep it to myself for my own reading pleasure. The translation was from a protected Twitter account, which means the translator wants to be appreciated for her hard work too.

Sigh, I dunno. I have to think about it very well first.

8 thoughts on “Page 37 of 366: Pissed, Sad, Confused, Not Pleased, Whut?

  1. I know exactly how you feel. I took the time a year ago to put together Yogurutu’s translation into a blog. The only reason I started my blog was because Yogurutu’s blog was gone, and there were so many people on many forums who were asking for the novel. I decided to share what I had, but I gave full credit to Yogurutu for her work. I even wrote on my blog that if Yogurutu should ever surface again, I will turn the blog over to her, because it is, after all, her work. Here’s my blog:http://loscs-novel.blogspot.com/2011/04/lives-of-sungkyunkwan-confucian.html

    Then I found about a month ago, that someone from Indonesia posted my entire blog on her own site and did not give credit to Yogurutu for her translations, nor to me for putting it all together. I posted a comment on her website, and she deleted my comment. I sent her an e-mail, and she ignored me. Here’s her blog, which is a word-for-word copy from the novel on my blog: http://po3ma.blogspot.com/2011/12/novel-lives-of-sungkyunkwan-confucian.html?showComment=1324278695601#c5284644068380258151

    So I can understand how you feel when someone takes your work and posts it as their own. I don’t mind people copying the novel from my site, since it’s there for everyone’s enjoyment, but I want them to at least give credit to Yogurutu and to me. We are all fans and addicts of Sungkyunkwan Scandal and we should be happy to share our love of the drama without being rude to each other.

    I too would like to read the translation of the novel of The Moon that Embraces the Sun. Please ask the person who is posting it on Twitter, if she would be willing to let me join her Twitter account. If she allows me, I promise not to post it anywhere. But I can understand if she wants to protect her privacy and not allow anyone else to join her. Anyway, thank you for your work.

    1. Awww, I love you already, for saving and keeping Yogu’s work. I am going to bookmark your blog too. Yes, it is so sad that some people just claim other’s work as their own. If I can just talk to them, I would ask them to translate the whole book since they even got to translate parts of it. LOL! Gawd, don’t they feel scared for taking credit of other people’s works?

      Re: the translator of TMTETS, just add her on Twitter and she will add you back. It is so nice to know that someone understands what I feel, at least I don’t feel weird, hehehe!

      1. Thank you so much! How do I add her? (I don’t know who she is.) It will be great to be able to read the new novel in English. You can e-mail me if you prefer. Thank you!

  2. i’ve had people plagiarize my work( i write stories ๐Ÿ™‚ ), this is something very similar, not giving credits where it’s due, i think you are fine, password protecting it, that way people know there is a real person behind the work who needs to be appreciated etc!! ๐Ÿ™‚ some people will be that way, i dunno how to stop them really, at best what we can do is to ignore em i guess, else we’d ruin our day, see you are being unhappy for no fault of yours rt? lik that! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hey Kara, cheer up! I understand your frustration. It is indeed very upsetting since one should be crediting the translator’s intellectual rights. But hey, what you’ve done for us, sharing this generous work is well appreciated. As long as what you’re doing is the right thing then do so, even the others are not, and even if the others will not. This maybe an unsolicited advice but i do hope so you can continue to share it with integrity. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

